Claiborne County is looking for a Police Cadet to join our ranks.
The Police Cadet position is a non-sworn, paid training position in anticipation of being promoted to a Police Officer position. The Cadet is responsible for attending Police Academy and participating certain required work and training activities of the Police Department.
Essential Duties and Responsibilities:
- Participate fully and successfully in a formal law enforcement training program through the academy selected by the City.
- Attend all scheduled academy training sessions
- Check emails and other correspondence from academy staff and instructors
- Sit or stand for extended periods of time
- Take appropriate notes on material presented
- Prepare written reports
- Prepare for written tests through independent or group study
- Participate in physical training program
- Participate in field activities in various environmental conditions
- Engage in formal inspections
- Perform special duties as assigned
- Perform specialized assignments for the Police Department in areas including, but not limited to: community oriented related programs. Independence Day, National Night Out and Trapper Days.
- Provides information and assistance to the public and promotes good public relations.
- Perform a minimum of 4 hours of community service per month.
- Perform a variety of duties relative to assigned area of responsibility or work special assignments at the direction of the Chief of Police.
- Attend monthly meetings and officer training when available.
- At the conclusion of the academy, earn Tennessee P.O.S.T. Certification.
Qualifications and Requirements
KNOWLEDGE, SKILLS AND ABILITIES:
- Ability to prioritize and multi-task.
- Ability to communicate clearly and effectively in oral and written form.
- Ability to establish and maintain effective working relationships with citizens, coworkers, supervisors, students, visitors and campus and center officials.
- Ability to analyze situations quickly and objectively and to determine the proper course of action.
- 21 years of age before the completion of academy and the P.O.S.T. examination date.
- Valid Tennessee Drive License
- Conviction of a felony
- Conviction of any crime involving domestic violence
- Use of marijuana within the past 5 years
- Conviction of any alcohol, controlled substances, drugs or other illegal substance related driving offense within the past 5 years
- Arrest, conviction of or deferred judgements for reckless driving within the past 5 years
- Release or discharge from the Armed Forces of the United States under dishonorable conditions
- Any history of Brady violations
- High School Diploma or Equivalent